Hard Work or Luck?

Good morning everyone!

How’s things? I’m good, thanks for asking. I’m currently sending applications for an internship next year so I’m quite nervous and the topic I’m going to talk about is kind of related to the stress I’m feeling, aghh! Responsibilities!

Anywayssss… as I had written/said in my previous post, I am going to talk about something that is more #liferelated. I realise that maybe not everyone can be quite interested in reading me babbling about songs I like or don’t like so… let’s try and make this space enjoyable for everyone, shall we?

One thing I’ve been thinking about lately is the neverending battle happening between people who believe in fate and luck and people who are committed to hard work, the so-called self made men. Or women. Before talking about my personal view that OF COURSE has to be the last, I must start by saying that most people act and think differently about this matter depending on the situation.

To be more clear, if they happen to succeed in some field and you ask them how they made it, you will most likely hear that “It takes a lot of hard work to get here, ha ha.” 

*insert sarcastic comment about how YOU will never make it that far*

But believe me that if you were to ask the same people about someone else’s success in the same field (o even in another one, where they didn’t reach the same results), well… they’ll say it’s probably because these other people have been lucky enough to get where they are or quite simply, they were destined.

And let’s not even mention the chance when they HATE those people for whatever reason.

That’s obviously what happens in most cases but not ALL of them, cause I still believe in people who genuinely admire someone else’s achievements and gets motivated by them to achieve theirs.

And that’s where we start talking about how I see things. I don’t quite believe in luck or fate; I do think that some of us might get luckier in some occasions but that works for everyone, so if you happen to be less lucky in a said moment, life will probably make it up to you and give you something else. It’s called balance. Or karma.

What I DO believe in, strongly, is the power of hard work and the neverending motivation you can get from your own dreams and goals. I consider myself a very ambitious person: I spend a lot of time during the day thinking about what my future is going to look like, if I will reach what I’m currently struggling to reach, if I will get to the point in life when I’ll look back to what I did and be proud of myself. The most important way to get where you want to get is definitely NOT hoping you have some kind of luck installed in your genes or analysing all your astrological inclinations to find out if you’re destined to be what you want to be.

You have to struggle everyday to get where you want to be and to BE who you want to be.

// Too many be’s and want’s and you’s. Apologies for any confusion but you got the point. //

You build your personality, your career, your relationships (your love life even!) day by day, through all the choices you make; whenever you pick one thing instead of another, that’s a step closer to the person you will be in five or ten years. As one of my teachers said (teachers. Really Giulia? Yes REALLY.) – referring to historical events, though – everything that happens in the past has inevitable consequences in the future and vice versa, everything you live in the present has deep causes in the past.

Working hard everyday can be tough and difficult and, I must say, you might feel like giving up sometimes. Well, more than sometimes. But it happens, we’re humans after all, aren’t we? The thing you must NEVER do is giving up on your dreams. You can give up on an assignement, you can give up on an unhealthy relationship, you can give up on whatsoever small thing happening in your life that you can’t handle anymore, that’s perfectly fine.

But do NEVER EVER EVER give up on your dreams: they’re a huge part – to me the most important – in your life; they’re the infinite fuel you can use when you’re not feeling so “hardworking” anymore, when the idea of getting up and send job applications looks WAY LESS appealing than your laying in your bed, when having to choose between University and Tumblr-scrolling never seemed easier, when you feel overwhelmed and you just wish you weren’t a person. Remember that you’re fighting for something and you’re doing it for YOU and no one else. Dreams can become reality and believe me, luck ain’t nothing to do with it, it’s up to you.

There’s one quote I read on Tumblr (lol the odds!) awhile ago. And that’s how I’m gonna end this post:

When you’re torn apart between “If it’s meant to be, it will be” and “If you want it, go get it” remember that there’s a compromise:

If it’s meant to be, it’s up to me.

All the love,

firma

2 thoughts on “Hard Work or Luck?

  1. This was really inspiring. You make me wanna work harder and put so much more effort in what I want to do in my life. I feel like even if I’m lazy af, if I want to, I can achieve everything I like.

    This is really motivational and I’ll read it again if I ever feel like I’m not good enough or if I want to give up. Thank you, Giulia. ❤

    P.s. Don't be nervous, you're great!

  2. This post is exactly what I need in this moment. it’s pure inspiration.
    “[…] if you happen to be less lucky in a said moment, life will probably make it up to you and give you something else.”
    You’re right! Damn right. I don’t believe in faith or luck, they are secondary. So first of all you must GET UP and ACT.
    I really thank you, Giulia, you made my day. ❤

Leave a comment